New National Curriculum – Good, Bad, or Ugly?

This week really my view of the National Curriculum has dramatically changed. Why? Because I’ve realised that it was scare-mongering on the part of the various voices of education which had given me my original opinion, and not the actual curriculum. Normally, I’m not one to be swayed by popular opinion, so I am not too sure what happened with this one.

 

I cannot go into the NC subject by subject, but I will say one thing. Society has changed. When I was at school, it was very rare to have been to as many schools as I or other Armed Forces’ children. Today there are more children than ever growing up in care, and families are more accepting of the socio-economic need to move for a job. Reflecting upon my own disjointed education, I would not wish it on anyone. Of course, it has shaped me into the person I am today… I love to travel and experience new things. I find it easy to settle in and to hit the ground running. However, I also learned about the Tudors and Stuarts 2 years in a row, whilst not covering the topic of ‘time’ until year 6.

 

Whilst some might describe this new curriculum as too heavily prescriptive, I like to see it as a challenge. Not only is it a challenge, it also allows all children, regardless of where they live in England, access to the same basic subject coverage at around the same time. I believe this takes us one step in the right direction, that is towards an education system which is less and less a postcode lottery. I hope that myself and my peers will tackle the curriculum head on, striving for the same engaging and creative lessons possible with the old NC… and I hope the children of this country will benefit greatly from that.

One thought on “New National Curriculum – Good, Bad, or Ugly?

Leave a Reply

