The calm before the storm…

It’s here. The big day. My first day with responsibility for an entire class of children.

 

It has happened so quickly. I feel so unready and yet, at the same time, I have never felt so prepared for anything in my life. It is possibly the strangest feeling, this calm before the storm. I am so aware that I have trained HARD for this, and that I am already a teacher. As a colleague put it earlier, ‘you’ve trained for years…!’. But still, no amount of training can possibly prepare you for this day.

 

This is the day when I have a legal responsibility, a moral responsibility, to the wellbeing and progress of 32 children. This is the day when I have to plan, present, evaluate and refine… and then do it again, for 4 hours, and then every day after that. This is the day when I become a teacher.

 

And that is why I’m equally excited, challenged and privileged.

 

This is the day when I join children on their learning journey. This is the day when I engage 32 children in a multitude of subjects, opening their minds to worlds of discovery. This is the day when I become a teacher.

Leave a Reply

